26.—Legislatures of Manitoba, 1945-64, as at Apr. 30, 1964

Norg.-Legislatures from Confederation to 1923 are given in the 1924 Year Book, p. 80; for 1924-36 in the 1938 edition, p. 115; and for 1937-45 in the 1963-64 edition, p. 88.

Date of	Legislature	Number	Date of	Date of
Election		of Sessions	First Opening	Dissolution
Oct. 15. 1945	22nd	4	Feb. 19, 1946	Sept. 29, 1949
Nov. 10, 1949	23rd	7	Feb. 14, 1950	Apr. 23, 1953
June 8, 1953	24th	5	Feb. 2, 1954	Apr. 30, 1958
June 16, 1958	25th	2	Oct. 23, 1958	Mar. 31, 1959
May 14, 1959	26th	5	June 9, 1959	Nov. 9, 1962
Dec. 14, 1962	27th	1	Feb. 28, 1963	t

¹ Life of Legislature not expired at Apr. 30, 1964.

27.—Fifteenth Ministry of Manitoba, as at Apr. 30, 1964

(Party standing at latest General Election, Dec. 14, 1962: 35 Progressive Conservative, 13 Liberal, 8 New Democratic Party and 1 Social Credit.)

Office	Name	Date of First Appointment	Date of Present Appointment
Premier and Acting Provincial Treasurer Minister of Industry and Commerce Attorney-General Minister of Education Minister of Health Minister of Health Minister of Agriculture and Conservation Minister of Jublic Works Minister of Labour Minister of Labour Minister of Municipal Affairs Minister of Public Utilities and Provincial Secretary		June 30, 1958 June 30, 1958 June 30, 1958 June 30, 1958 June 30, 1958 Aug. 7, 1959 Aug. 7, 1959 Aug. 7, 1959 Oct. 31, 1961 Feb. 27, 1963 Feb. 27, 1963	June 30, 1958 Aug. 7, 1959 Dec. 9, 1963 Dec. 9, 1963 Dec. 9, 1963 Feb. 27, 1963 Aug. 7, 1963 Aug. 7, 1959 Nov. 5, 1962 Feb. 27, 1963 Feb. 27, 1963 Feb. 27, 1963 June 12, 1963

Subsection 8.-Saskatchewan*

The Government of Saskatchewan consists of a Lieutenant-Governor, an Executive Council and a Legislative Assembly. Lieutenant-Governors from Confederation (1905) to 1959 are cited in the 1960 Year Book, p. 115; since that date the office has been held by the Hon. F. L. Bastedo, commissioned to office Jan. 27, 1958, followed by the Hon. Robert L. Hanbidge, commissioned to office Mar. 1, 1963.

The statutory number of members of the Legislative Assembly is 59, elected for a maximum term of five years. Premiers from Confederation to 1959 are listed in the 1960 Year Book, p. 115.

The Premier receives \$13,000 and each Cabinet Minister \$10,000 annually in addition to a sessional indemnity. The Leader of the Opposition receives \$10,000 plus an office allowance of \$12,000 per annum, the Speaker \$3,000 and the Deputy Speaker \$2,000. The sessional indemnity of a member of the Legislature is \$4,000 together with an expense allowance of \$2,000. Each of the members for the three northernmost constituencies of Cumberland, Athabasca and Meadow Lake receives a \$4,335 sessional indemnity and a \$2,165 expense allowance.

* As at June 10, 1964, the date of availability of information following the General Election of Apr. 22, 1964.